Information Literacy…Authentic Conversation..Globalize Curriculum…

In my last post, I mentioned that I was concerned about the ease with which any person can access your personal online content, even though they were not specifically invited to do so.  I’ve spent the last month observing how much I actually depend upon and need access to my educational contacts on Twitter, websites like Classroom 2.0, and blogs.  This morning, I was endowed with a Google Wave invite, and suddenly, I am back in the saddle and can’t wait to use this technology piece to engage in information literacy, authentic conversation, and hopefully, globalized curriculum.  I owe this to Eric Snyder and Silvia Tolisano –  Eric for the Google Wave, and Silvia, who posts such wonderful educaitonal commentary in her “Langwitches” blog. 

Here is an excerpt from Silvia’s 6th grade social studies project, “Jewish Communities Around the World”.

In the 21st century, we need to be looking for and addressing something more…

Information Literacy:

  • Online sites and books are still valid information sources, but are they enough to engage students and give them “authentic” sources?
  • Being able to get, evaluate and work with information from a variety of sources, such as books, almanacs, blogs, wikis, video, audio, interviews, etc.

Networking Literacy:

  • Learn about accessing a network of people who can contribute information from their own experiences, on location and customized (personalized) to our own criteria, not the one a publisher or author chose?

Communication skills:

  • being able to interview through a variety of media and communication methods and be familiar with their distinct etiquette.
    • face to face
    • e-mail
    • twitter
    • facebook
    • video conferencing (Skype)
    • texting
    • telephone
  • being able to present the information obtained through a variety a media (video, images, audio)

These bullets are valid content for 21st century learning skills.  I am reconciled that in order for me as a technogy teacher to be able to adequately teach, then I must be a utilizer of these tools.  The artistry with which I use them will demand some discipline, but I know I can make an impact on helping my students become more literate and socially aware of authentic learning.

Leave a Reply

